Ty Segall announces new album, Emotional Mugger

Ty Segall announces new album, Emotional Mugger

By Gia Vescovi-Chiordi

Absence makes the heart grow fonder – an age old adage that applies to many a thing – family members, toilet paper, ABC’s hit TV series Lost – but it may never apply to Ty Segall. Amidst tirelessly touring and dropping 14 track sophomore album II with power rock trio Fuzz  (which is 100% worth a listen, turned up) and less than a year after the Mr Face EP (released months after double studio album Manipulator) Ty Segall announces Emotional Mugger – yet another new album out January 22nd via Drag City, in addition to the 2016 North American Mugger Tour. After sending a VHS tape to a few publications with the 11 track, 40 minute(ish) album dubbed on it before playing a ’93 Michael Keaton flick (or Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, depending on who you talk to) alongside a handwritten note explaining the album title, appetites have been whet. With not much more intel other than dates and some preposterous prose (squeezing shaking oozing metallic pool like brain blood), we can only ask – who are Mandy Cream and Candy Sam?

Go and catch this dude before he burns up like a furious, droning Sun. (And click the Emotional Mugger link above to see a very silly Segall don a white coat and learn you on some muggin’.)

Emotional Mugger Track Listing:

01. Squealer
02. Californian Hills
03. Emotional Mugger/Leopard Priestess
04. Breakfast Eggs
05. Diversion
06. Baby Big Man (I Want A Mommy)
07. Mandy Cream
08. Candy Sam
09. Squealer Two
10. W.U.O.T.W.S.
11. The Magazine

Emotional Mugger Tour Dates:
Wed. Jan. 13 – Solano Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern *
Fri. Jan. 15 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Sat. Jan. 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom *
Mon. Jan. 18 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *
Tue. Jan. 19 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Thu. Jan. 21 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre *
Fri. Jan. 22 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre *
Sat. Jan. 23 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theatre *
Wed. Feb. 17 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
Fri. Feb. 19 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk Outside
Sat. Feb. 20 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
Sun. Feb. 21 – Memphis, TN @ The Hi Tone Cafe
Mon. Feb. 22 – Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge
Tue. Feb. 23 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Wed. Feb. 24 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
Thu. Feb. 25 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. Feb. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero Theatre *
Sat. Feb. 27 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall *
Sun. Feb. 28 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Tue. March 1 – Boston, MA @ Royale *
Wed. March 2 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Rialto *
Thu. March 3 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Rialto *
Fri. March 4 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall *
Sat. March 5 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre *
Mon. March 7 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Tue. March 8 Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
Wed. March 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue and 7th Street Entry
Thu. March 10 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
Fri. March 11 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre
Sat. March 12 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Fri. April 29Sun. May 1 – Austin, TX @ Levitation (Austin Psych Festival) at Carson Creek

* with CFM

No man is good three times. 

 

Author: Gia Vescovi-Chiordi

Share This Post On